Turk’s Head Review and the Chester Writers’ House are still looking for interns.  Not sure if you should apply?  Read this post by guest blogger Kirbee Veroneau, a student at Millersville University.  She did an internship with Turk’s Head Review and was kind enough to share her thoughts:

 

No matter what your major is, chances are you’ll probably want to have an internship under your belt before you graduate college. For English and Creative Writing majors especially, I can tell you first-hand how vital it is to have that experience.

At Millersville University, I’m an English Education major with a concentration in Writing Studies. While my internship is basically planned for me (student teaching), it was still up to me to meet the requirement for a “co-op experience” for my Writing Studies concentration. When I first saw that I had to not only complete an internship, but go out and find one on my own with barely any help, I was a little overwhelmed and, admittedly, a little annoyed. Completing an internship was not something I felt I had the time or energy to do, especially with schoolwork and the various organizations I’m a part of taking up all my time.

After a couple months of looking around, I was able to find an internship opportunity with James Esch’s Spruce Alley Press. I immediately was so excited. Writing and publishing were two things that I really wanted to do. Yes, I want to teach, but publishing had always been something that intrigued me and I was so excited to finally have the opportunity to see the behind-the-scenes of how that works and be able to write outside of the school’s constraints of mainly formal essays.

For me, personally, I had an extremely positive experience with my internship. It helped me in ways I never even thought it could. For example, I’ve become much better at time management. That’s a skill you need for the rest of your life, not just until your required “however-many-hours” comes to an end. I’ve learned about the kind of writer I am and had the opportunity to develop my written voice and become much more comfortable with that voice.

Experience, whether it be positive or negative (yep, negative experiences are helpful in the learning process too) is something you’ll want. If you’re sitting there rolling your eyes, I don’t blame you. A few months ago, that’s how I felt too. Yes, you can gain experience on your own from writing for yourself and developing your own stories and voices through blogging or writing poetry or whatever; however, there is so much to be learned from working with people who are experienced in your field. For English and Creative Writing majors, getting someone to look over your work and provide constructive criticism is an extremely beneficial experience. Not only do you learn how to become a better writer, but you learn to become a deeper thinker and become much more knowledgeable about your craft through the process of working with others. Not to mention, when applying for jobs, they’re going to be looking at the experience you’ve had just as much as the credits you’ve completed.

That’s why, even though you may want to run away and hide at the idea of finding and completing an internship, it’s an experience you’ll be so thankful you had. So, good luck and keep writing!

 

Read more about our internships at Turk’s Head Review and Chester Writers’ House, and get in touch with Dr. Utell if you want to apply.  Plus:  we’ve had a few job opportunities come our way over the last few days.  Check them out:

Assistant Editor at Springer Science and Business Media

Online Content Editor at Healio.com

