It has been a busy semester for Dr. Pobo — his new book of poetry, Booking Rooms in the Kuiper Belt, is out from Urban Farmhouse Press.  You can pick up a copy over at the website for the press, and we encourage you to show your support for poetry AND for small presses by doing so!

PoboKuiperStore-500x500

He’s also had poetry appear over the last month or two in venues such as Minor Literature[s] [here], Gnarled Oak [here], and Silver Birch Press [here].  One of my favorite pieces is this one, a prose poem published by Rat’s Ass Review:

 

IN MICAH I WATCH A LOT OF BETTE DAVIS MOVIES

1

1949. In Beyond The Forest, Rosa Moline says if she doesn’t get out of that town, she’ll die. Burn that town down, burn it so even the ashes fly away, make it so no one even remembers such a town was there. That’s what I feel in Micah. Even when redbuds bloom. Stunted, our gray houses never bloom. If they could bloom, the flowers would be pus-filled devils.

1942. In In This Our Life, spoiled Stanley, yes, that’s her name, makes a mess of other people’s lives (a tablespoon of incest with her uncle). I’m called rotten too. And bitch. And fag. And cocksucker. If you don’t eat dinner at 6:00pm, people think “He’s odd.” I’m no saint. I’m the bad boy, the bad girl, the glassblower’s glass, fragile yet radioactive.

1962. In Whatever Happened To Baby Jane, Jane Hudson is so made up you can’t see any real skin. In Micah we all wear heavy makeup. Our sins are the mascara on our soul’s face. You are a gang plank. The many people who you despise must walk until they drop down into a shark-infested ocean. You laugh hysterically, call the liquor store, add another layer of paint.

2

Some go to church and get by, shop at Wal-Mart. Some are so despairing that their one life jacket, “tomorrow,” is too torn to keep them afloat. Me, I watch Bette Davis films. I know them line by line. When Micah turns over in its sleep, I kiss its seeringly hot cheeks, catch on fire. I live in fire. One step closer—and I’ll burn you.

