During spring break a few weeks ago, a group of Widener English students had the opportunity to travel to the Lake District in England.  Sponsored by Professor Daniel Robinson, these students have been studying Romantic-period poetry, and some of them have been deeply involved in undergraduate research as part of our Textual Scholarship program, led by Professor Robinson.  (We’d like to acknowledge that this outstanding experience for our students is made possible by the Homer C. Nearing, Jr. Distinguished Professorship, held by Professor Robinson.)

While in England they spent several days at the Jerwood Centre, home to William Wordsworth’s archive, and under the expert guidance of Jeff Cowton, Curator, they studied the poet’s manuscripts, learned about papermaking and printing, and explored the landscape that formed Wordsworth’s imagination.  In a post for our national online undergraduate literary magazine, The Blue Route, Emma Irving talks about this transformative experience.  I’ll let her take it from here:

I cannot stop gushing about my trip; it was life-changing in so many respects, and I’ll take as much time out of my day as you want to show you my pictures and tell you my stories. But one of the greatest things I got out of this trip as an English major was the opportunity to truly connect with an author, to really get to know William Wordsworth as a human being who wrote poetry.

Hop over to The Blue Route to read the whole post, and check out this gallery of photos, courtesy of Professor Robinson.

